Another Disney Blog

Sleeping Beauty Castle Disneyland Paris Black and White

I always like to look on the optimistic side of life, but I am realistic enough to know that life is a complex matter. – Walt Disney

I know there are a gazillion Disney blogs out there.  This project, however, is a personal one for me.  It is a way for me to organize the hundreds of photographs I have from my various trips over the years while adding a bit more story to them.  And as there are so many people around the world who love Disney as much as I do I thought I might as well share my memories with everyone.

My first visit to a Disney theme park was to Walt Disney World in 1977.  Over the next fifteen years my family and I would make many trips to Orlando.  It wasn’t until 2006, however, that I visited Disneyland in Anaheim for the first time, even though I’d already made the trek over five thousand miles to Disneyland Paris the year before.  But it’s not just the theme parks I love.  Like so many others, I have been touched over the years by Disney films and shows.  One of my most vivid memories was the excitement I felt seeing Mary Poppins for the first time on the Wonderful World of Disney in the early 80s.  And although I only saw the movie once I remember sobbing in the car all the way home from the drive-in when my family went to see The Fox and the Hound.  I can’t magine that there is any American who doesn’t have a Disney memory from childhood.

Disney for me is more than a company; it is a way of thinking, a way of life.  It is about making others as happy as you possibly can and never judging anyone for being different; and in return feeling the happiness and fulfillment of being a good citizen of the Earth.  I’m sure we Disney fanatics are a complete mystery to those who have no interest in the long legacy that Walt Disney began in the 1920s.  But for me, my fondness for Disney parks and Disney films has only grown as I’ve gotten older.  Perhaps we are a strange tribe, we Disney Geeks, but it’s a group that I’m proud to be a part of.

Leave a Reply

